Available for Orange County Residents 17 and under
To obtain a juvenile resident card:
- A parent or legal guardian’s appropriate ID is required for online registration. An appropriate ID is a valid Florida Driver's License or Florida State Identification showing the parent/guardian’s correct name and parent/guardian’s residential street address within the Library District.
- Child must be 17 years or younger.
- The child’s card will be mailed within 2 weeks.
- Once the child’s library card is received in the mail it will be in a temporary status while we conduct the verification process, which will take 2 weeks from the date you submit the juvenile library card application. While in this temporary status the child will have the opportunity to check out up to 5 items.
- If the juvenile library card application cannot be processed you will be notified
Apply in person:
- A parent or legal guardian may visit any Orange County Library location with appropriate ID to obtain a card for a child 17 or under. An appropriate ID is a valid Florida Driver's License or Florida State Identification showing the parent/guardian's correct name and residential street address within the Library District.
- If the parent/guardian's Florida Driver's License or Florida State ID lists a P.O. Box or any address other than their correct residential street address, additional identification is required. The parent/guardian may present a current property tax receipt for real property, a current utility, cable, or home telephone bill, or a current bank statement that is in their name and has the correct residential street address.
- If the parent/guardian does not have a Florida Driver's License or Florida State ID, they may present a current Driver's License or State ID from another U.S. State or a U.S. Military ID to confirm identity. These exceptions require that the Library make a photocopy of the identification presented.
- A parent or legal guardian must sign and accept financial responsibility for the child's library card privileges.
- Cards are issued for four years or until the juvenile card holder turns 18. At that time the juvenile card holder is eligible for an adult card. Before that card may be issued, all fees and fines must be paid in full on an existing juvenile account.
Learn how to make the most of your library card!